Poets logo

Love

a poem about love and relationships

By D'Andrea WritesPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1

The Love Poem

I love you, but you have no idea

How blissful it must be for you to stand there not knowing how much I love you

I love you but the words don’t come out

I love you but you take my breath away

I can’t tell you because I can’t say the words

They are in my throat but God the fear I feel that you might say no to me

Have I been wrong this whole time?

What does it mean to tell you I love you?

What does it mean for me to freely say the words that are on the tip of my tongue?

Am I afraid of rejection? Am I afraid to love?

Is this the result of unrequited love?

Unreturned love, Love that is left to die

I can’t, I can’t bring myself to say the words to you

I cannot, fear blocks me, it cripples my momentum

How can I say I love you? How can I say it?

As a result, I have locked my heart away

Far away to a place where it can’t be touched

I feel nothing just the whisper of what is supposed to be love

I smile at the jokes, I empathize through the tears

Don’t I look like I love you? Aren’t you convinced?

But little do you know that I’m lying, I have felt nothing for you

Just a superficial feeling of lust and a vacant care

Superficial relationships all end the same way

We don’t get what we want but we continue looking in hopes we don’t have to open up our hearts

Am I ready for that?

Can I pull my heart out of the dungeon I tucked it away in?

Can I pull it out and present it to you as a gift and hope you receive it?

But what if it is crushed?

What if you still reject it?

Would God be so cruel to let my poor heart be bruised and battered?

After I spent so much time hiding it and keeping it safe from harm?

Would he allow it to suffer and struggle?

Gasp because of pain just so it could be strong

I’m afraid of this, I’m afraid to trust HIM with this

I see how he works, He’ll cause my heart to hurt again

He’ll let it feel pain again

He’ll let it suffer again

But no, HE said “no let it remain”

Let it stay locked away until the right one comes this way

Let it remain captive in a safe little box until the one with a key opens your door to paradise.

Its love.....

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

D'Andrea Writes

Just writing for chucks and giggles

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.