Poets logo

Love Is

Is Not

By Erin CuellarPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Love Is
Photo by Jamez Picard on Unsplash

Love is doing what you are told

No - Love is freedom

Love is keeping these secrets until you are old

No - Love is sharing all your thoughts without fear of being dumb

I will give you my love if you stop all that emotional stuff

No – Love is holding space while I work through the emotions

The bruises are signs of my love when it’s rough

No – Love never thinks of the physical fight amongst the commotion

Love is figuring out the tough situation

No – Love is reassuring you are not alone

You will earn my love if you do not cry while I am watching television

No – Love is recognizing what needs to be postponed

You can keep my love if I don’t have to yell today

No – Love does not require more than a conversation

Love is telling no one outside of here what I say

No – Love has no interest in who hears the narration

You will keep my love when you harden the fuck up

No – Love wants to see the soft and gentle part

It was love that he touched you, why are you in a slump

No – Love respects your body and your heart

Love is not talking about emotions

No – Love will honor the waves that you may encounter

Love is not questioning my devotion

No – Love will lift you up and empower

Love is not identifying this rage

No – Love extinguishes the fire from expansion

Love is not something that will change as you age

No – Love will deepen with even more compassion

Love is just a word that I will tell you in front of others

No – Love is more than just a word to say

Love is not…

No – Love is…

This

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Erin Cuellar

I love writing. It is a great outlet and I am excited to learn from folks on here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.