Poets logo

Love is free

not fearing

By AbbieDrewPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Love is free
Photo by Cristian Palmer on Unsplash

Drowning in an ocean

of fears

that quietly whisper

they love me

any moment I try and get away

October is domestic violence awareness month; abuse is abuse. It can come in many forms: verbal, mental, physical, sexual, even spiritual abuse. This poem was written to remind us that "I love you" doesn't truly mean they love us. Sometimes, people love to control us..they call it love. Love does not feel controlling. Love genuine love, I am learning, is safe..and it feels freeing. Free enough to fall in love with all of yourself. Free enough to fall in love with the parts your past lovers told you was too much. You are valuable, you are lovable, you matter and you are not too much to love until the last moment. Truly, I promise. Nothing else matters my sweet babies, nothing but you! So find that inner love for yourself and run, even if they tell you "I love you". They would have shown you that or at least worked to show you when they had the opportunity. People who know they are the problem change so they are no long the problem. We all need to recognize this. I know I have been the problem, I have also been hurt. Lets heal, so we no longer hurt each other.

Please like, subscribe and share

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

AbbieDrew

In a world that feels so dark creating content in any form is my way of surviving through it. I felt voiceless for years, this is my place to feel loud. AbbieDrewPoetry on instagram! Please subscribe!! Any tips truly are a gift! <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.