Poets logo

Love in the Shadow of Kinship

Hidden Love

By Rhea BanawePublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Like
Love in the Shadow of Kinship
Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash

You walked into my life with a cold, unfamiliar stare,

Bringing a woman with blonde hair,

To who my father showed such care.

As he pulled out her chair,

I sensed something rare,

Love was brewing in the air,

They thought not of us, unaware.

But why do you act like you don’t care?

Your eyes seem to possess a piercing glare.

A fire in my body flared,

Though I dared not to declare,

For I fear that your gaze would strip me bare.

You seemed to be the perfect match, my heart could only dare,

Together forever, we could be a pair,

Never to severe or snare,

Yet this feeling was not to share,

For soon I realized that you are my brother, Frenneire.

So, I took a deep breath, to gather my wits and beware,

And decided that this love would remain in me and not impair,

For this secrete love was something to bear,

As I watched you and our father, with a smile and a prayer.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Rhea Banawe

I swear, I'd rather eat a sock than a spicy dish, but heaven forbid I speak up and ask for something bland. ill just suffer in silence like the socially awkward champ that I am.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.