Poets logo

Love / Hate

Self-Image

By Kiersten BrownPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - October 2022
71
Love / Hate on black background

I look in my mirror and lean in close

I can see the vibrancy of my eyes

The blue hues shift to green as I turn on the light

I look over just a bit

I see the red scar left behind

From the pimple that used to be there

I couldn’t help but scar my face

The mirror shows my hair

From where I stand, the strands are silky

The curls make me feel cute

I turn my head and see the other side

The frizz makes my hair puffy

The strands now look flat and dead

My body is covered in marks

From my time in the sun

Freckles dotting my skin

My body is covered in lines

From growing too fast

From gaining weight

I can’t help how I feel

Though I wish I could feel different

Wish I could worship my eyes

More than I despise my skin

sad poetry
71

About the Creator

Kiersten Brown

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Allie Mennenabout a year ago

    Really love how there's no periods making it seem like an endless thought that just continues- I hope you are doing well and see beauty in every mirror you see your reflection in!

  • keenan eliezer2 years ago

    Great!

  • Mcgrotha Brinker2 years ago

    It's really nice

  • Atman Sudarth2 years ago

    Great!

  • Nice ❤️🫶🏾Self Love is Very Important! So is Friendship Love 😘I love you ❤️

  • Jess Percy2 years ago

    🙌🏼

  • Carol Townend2 years ago

    I can relate to this. I like how the feelings have been expressed.

  • Lopa Dutt2 years ago

    Hi, thanks for sharing this blog. https://tractorkarvan.com/

  • Pavlak Montoro2 years ago

    Love your poetry

  • Kendall Defoe 2 years ago

    Didn't know we had the same mirror... A wonderful poem, but I do hope that you are well and that you keep writing. ;)

  • Jacquie Mayhorn2 years ago

    Ouch.. and I mean that with the utmost respect. I related to every line in this poem as though I was looking in a mirror. Actually, scratch that, I didn’t need a mirror. Your words painted the image. That’s what poetry is supposed to do. Make you feel. This did. Kudos.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.