Poets logo

Love denied

To die for

By SJ CoveyPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
25
Love denied
Photo by Ankhesenamun on Unsplash

Hatred of someone I know not,

I take a shot.

Wary of who, and what they bring,

I drink a lot.

Denied the concept of a fling,

Steal the humanity she’ll bring,

In she swings.

Had I heart it would stop,

Beauty is nothing to her, within swarms wings.

Universe turns on the light,

There will be no flight,

Only fight.

For her,

For them,

For us.

From this day on,

My heart is won.

I cannot share the love of thine foe,

To do so shall cause woe.

For if they know,

She will have to go.

I shall not stow,

of this I know.

The ending is dire,

My heart atop a funerary pyre.

Please click on the heart if you like this and subscribe if you would like to read more of my work. Thank you so much for reading.

love poems
25

About the Creator

SJ Covey

FamiLIES, SJ's debut NA book was released 20th Sept 2023.

If u like what u have read please subscribe & leave a heart.

You can follow SJ on

Twitter

https://twitter.com/SJ_Covey

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/SJCoveyAuthor

sjcovey.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.