Poets logo

♥️Dad♥️

The Various Stages of Comfort

By Annie Edwards Published 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
4

Daddy,

Not all fairytales have “happy” endings, but they are beautiful, nonetheless.

Life is a beautiful tragedy, and happiness comes in many forms…

Daddy’s Girl

You were my first “Prince Charming.”

You taught me the meaning of genuine love;

a heartfelt connection that surpasses life itself…and one that eventually did.

And because it was so heartfelt, my heart still feels it to this day… Heartache is more easily faced when eternal love comes into play…

You were my childhood superhero.

Protecting me from the “villains” of the world, I felt the most safe with you.

And now, although the body of that superhero is no longer physically here, the superpowers he possessed linger on; life lessons I will always hold dear.

Just like grief, comfort is best experienced through all of its stages, even the undesired ones.

……

And when I rediscovered that childlike innocence, I realized you’d never actually left me… just like you promised you never would.

AND I LIVED HAPPILY EVER AFTER…

Love,

your strong little girl

inspirationallove poemssocial commentary
4

About the Creator

Annie Edwards

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Brenton F2 years ago

    That was so beautiful - I imagined this read in my daughters voice and i have a tear in my eye. KUDOS!

  • Kelly Leblanc2 years ago

    Totes happily ever after. With all the messy good stuff ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.