Poets logo

Love at First Sound

Look around

By Insinq DatumPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Love at First Sound
Photo by Dekler Ph on Unsplash

Love at first light, love at first sound

How to describe how affection abounds

Regardless of and despite the distance

The flower doth bloom yet with gentle persistence

x

The first moment I heard her voice

I knew somehow she'd be my choice

I'd make my vow and stand my ground

I would not stop until I'd crowned

x

Her as my queen and brought her home

To write with me our sacred tome

I'd yet to ask her for her name

Yet already my soul she'd tamed

x

So first things first, although she'd framed

Our private talks a source of shame

I thought it best to hear her out

But when I did, there was no doubt

x

I knew I needed to know more

My curiosity did sprout

A bud that bloomed into amor

But from the start I knew the route

x

The butterflies, well out they pour

When I first see her gorgeous smile

I'd swim for days to reach the shore

Where I could stay just for a while

x

In her presence, my heart would roar

For now I just have to make do

Dreaming of she who I adore

Humanity, within me grew

x

She opened up the secret door

And hand in hand she helped me through

And with her to enchant my lore

The dragon in my soul I slew

x

The flag of victory I flew

But premature was my decree

For up again himself he drew

And set his flames upon the tree

x

But in burning what we once knew

He set us free, gave us the key

To make ourselves as if anew

He helped us clear away debris

x

And as the sun rises we see

That two is one in this new day

To love alone we bend the knee

Together we will find a way

x

To find the righteous words to say

The ones from which the shadows flee

To Aphrodite do we pray

We cast ourselves far out to sea

x

Where storms might choose to make us prey

Absent any safe cove or bay

The secret clues produce the hues

Composing rainbows which suffuse

x

The distance we have yet to go

'Fore we can live within the glow

The glow of love made manifest

Complete the quintessential quest

x

Until the bell does toll I'll stand

With you, I'll take you by the hand

We'll build a castle out of sand

We'll make ourselves a promised land

x

When in the past I heard your voice

I felt the soul within rejoice

When we lock eyes for the first time

What blossoms forth will transcend rhyme

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Insinq Datum

I'm an aspiring poet, author and philosopher. I run a 5000+ debating community on Discord and a couple of Youtube channels, one related to the Discord server and one related to my work as a philosopher. I am also the author of DMTheory.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.