Poets logo

Love and Hate

A Poem by Samantha Paredes

By Samantha ParedesPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

L- is for the lying, the lack of heart, and the last lascivious look you gave me,

O- is for the offending and off-handed manner you spoke to and treated me,

V- is for the vapidity of it all; the virginity of affect but not of spirit,

E- is for the enticing and exhilarating challenge those empty words encouraged me to elope with,

And after all that, I still can’t hate you.

No one could care for you more than I.

Don’t think that changes a thing now.

H- is for the hope and healing I gave myself after the hiatus I knew would become permanent

A- is for achieving an abundance of more-than-adequate affirmations to my soul

T- is for tumbling into a timely triumph through my own tenacious tussle to leave you be

E- is for exacting my revenge by emphatically letting the end be the end.

I only wish for you to understand.

To see what it all adds up to.

Map where the road may take you.

My dear friend, can’t you now see that hate and love are merely words?

Fleeting fancies of emotion.

Only actions speak what your heart truly means.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.