Poets logo

Love

At First Sight

By Mary Catherine WatsonPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1
LOVE at first sight

February 28, 1998–

A day I shall never forget.

A Saturday.

Just two weeks after I felt

I had died

a million deaths.

I had lost all hope

that someone,

anyone,

could actually

love me.

February 14, 1998–

I had cried.

All laughter gone.

A river of tears.

Wretched.

Tired.

Torn apart from the inside out.

Life had not been kind,

nor fair.

I needed, so desperately,

for someone,

anyone,

to CARE.

I prayed to God that if He truly loved me,

He would give me a sign.

Something.

Anything.

Just let me know that I mattered.

That I was valued.

That I was

BEAUTIFUL in His eyes.

Tears streamed.

Tears dried.

Numbed from life.

I went about the process of living,

knowing there was only one SPARK left.

One spark of life in my being.

I looked around,

the surroundings were the same.

Yet, something was different.

Spiritual.

Compelling.

I turned on the computer,

surfed the virtual world.

An invisible entity that had

INFILTRATED

our lives.

I set up a profile.

You had too.

We were a MATCH.

Were we?

"A Southern Gentleman" you described.

Did I dare meet you?

Were you the

ONE?

Courage.

February 28, 1998–

I pulled in the parking lot.

I stepped out of my little red car.

The sun filtered through my pink skirt,

clinging with electrical charge.

I walked toward you.

Faith in God.

Closer.

Rays beamed down from

the Heavens.

Devine moment.

Devine intervention.

I knew.

I knew it was you.

I didn't know you.

Closer.

Still—

stepping closer.

The hairs on my arms stood up.

Charged.

I knew.

Even if I didn't know you,

God, yes, God does.

And,

GOD loves.

June 26, 1999–

Bells are ringing.

A beautiful walk.

Trumpets volunteering their

triumphal sound.

Closer.

I can barely breathe.

Anticipation.

You.

I can see you catch your breath.

Your voice shakes and tears escape.

You say your vows

as do I.

A journey.

And, because of FAITH,

we have infinite tomorrows.

YOU.

You—fill my heart.

Thank you, for loving me.

Thank you for loving me enough

to also love my children

as your own.

February 14, 2022

That little spark of life

ignited a lifetime of

passion.

A FLAME.

The flame love at first sight,

To the enduring flame of true love.

Love through sickness and health.

Love through lean and plenty.

Love through tears of sadness and joy.

Love through loss.

Love through life anew.

Love—two bodies intertwined.

LOVE.

Two Souls with one body.

HOLY.

Two souls UNITED.

Thank you God.

Thank God for you.

Thank God for US.

Thank god for Love at first sight.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Mary Catherine Watson

Mary Catherine Watson, a.k.a., M.C.V Watson is an Author, Artist and Teacher/Instructor. She has a deep love for God, family, nature and learning. She is a USN Veteran, and, is also an Honor Graduate having earned four separate degrees.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.