Poets logo

Lost Love

This is to the one I loved but left anyways

By Matthew MccaheyPublished 8 months ago 2 min read
16
Lost Love
Photo by NEOM on Unsplash

We were just star-struck lovers

Meeting under a fleeting shooting star

And I remember my heart beating out of my chest

still, I walked away

We only existed under the guise of night

Both walking the path by the light of the moon

Back in those days the darkness was my only friend

And I used you as my North star, guiding me home

Until one day I chose to step into the light

I embraced the warmth of the sun like an old friend

Holding me tightly filling up my soul

Renewing me

But there you stood only ever wavering in the moonlight

Afraid to step out into the sun

I waited for you, long after I should have

Yet you never chose to follow

I loved you because you reminded me of the moon

The glow I once knew so intimately

But I only felt the darkness when I was near you

Being around you felt like being engulfed once more

I don’t regret loving you

It was exactly what I needed

When I was trying to find my way

I had hoped you would join me

Yet I saw you waiver

Never stepping out of the moonlight

So, I walked away

Despite still loving you

Never believing I could find love like yours again

Because I refused to return to the darkness

And I will wander this Earth

Looking for a place to die

Or trying to find a love like yours

Trying to find a way to live

But this time I was the one who made the choice

Knowing I could live with the outcome

Adding you to my reasons to live list

Making love a priority wherever I went

Forever saddened by the loss of my choice

This season of mine led to many goodbyes

Far more than I could possibly know

I'm just grateful for the time we spent together

But baby I’ve got to go

There's something out there waiting for me

Something I must do alone

You may never understand, I know that

But baby I’ve got to go.

performance poetrylove poemsheartbreak
16

About the Creator

Matthew Mccahey

I want to use stories and life experiences to allow others to be open about their own.

https://linktr.ee/Authormack729

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Martha Agnes2 months ago

    This shows a sweetness and a sadness that is compelling--but by no means, universal! Question: As a writer myself, I am always scouring the universe as I know it for ways to improve a piece. Are you open to suggestions, supportive feedback, etc etc.? BTW: I taught school for thirty years which can ruin one's personality. ;)

  • Test8 months ago

    writing skills are truly impressive

  • Poppy 8 months ago

    This is incredible. I love how you wove so much emotion into this

  • Fantastic Piece😉❤️📝💯👌🥹-

  • MAARI8 months ago

    This is what exactly happened in my life too. I had choose my career and dreams among love. As though it's hard to breakup but I did it anyway. Individual freedom is Ultimate. Marrying, giving birth, Feeding and breeding are endless terms. I choose my inner peace over everything.

  • I am so glad that I you got top story and it led me to discovering your poetry…❤️🙏✨

  • Manisha Dhalani8 months ago

    Matthew, I may not be able to resonate with this as I've never walked away like this, but I think this poem is so lovely. It's wonderful that you could pen this down to such detail that someone like me who can't understand this, gets your emotions!

  • I may never be able to understand why it is okay to walk away from someone we love. I understand that you didn't want to return to that darkness again. I'm not saying you shouldn't have done that. Of course you know what's best for you. Just that it's something beyond my comprehension. You wrote this poem so beautifully!

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Emotional and that's the way love goes!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Margaret Brennan8 months ago

    that's so sweet, bittersweet, actually. Reminds me of a love I had many years ago. He wouldn't budge; I wouldn't stay. By the time he was ready to move on, I was long gone. I've never forgotten but also never regretted my choice. GREAT poem. Thank you for the memories.

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    This was so good! I have left those I love and it was for the better, though I will always love them

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.