Poets logo

Lost in All Habitats

Justice for Turtle Island, Come Out of Your Shell

By Meli RembornPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

Surrounded by humidity in the rainforest,

Where the most popular song is hearing toucans sing,

Is where I'm most familiar,

But with my red string,

I'd soon learn my new habitat would be unknown.

In the center of Piedmont would be my next stop,

Another land filled with history rooted in fear,

With time the snow retreats to the mountains 3 hours away,

The beaches drown their sorrows with kombucha and beer,

I depart with annual cyclones.

In the middle of a grassland prairie,

Where the grass reaches as high as it can for the sky,

I lose all sense of direction,

Prepared for the next goodbye,

I'm connected and alone.

Now I find myself in the valley of cacti,

Where the desert winds engulf the hollow city lights,

Only ever welcomed by other lost souls in search of center,

My eyes overdosed from sleepless nights,

Almost every passerby seeking for their personal throne.

I'm a hermit crab who takes time to find a home,

Your comfort, your center, your domain,

No one shell is just right for me,

But I adapt to the ones big enough to sustain,

I blink and suddenly I've outgrown.

Home is not a person or a place,

Home as a person can be codependent,

Home as a place can be selfish and privileged,

For we are merely reflections of our ascendant(s),

Only the privileged find homes everywhere they go as if its their own.

Following the phases of the moon,

Home in turn becomes discomfort,

Manifestation of my reality always in question,

How the people always come first,

Always a habit of acting lone.

I hope to find my resting days back in the rainforest,

Although we never truly return to the same place we've been,

It would be nice to come full circle,

Or maybe somewhere new that inspires from deep within,

Let my nutrients dissolve right down to the bone.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Meli Remborn

Travelling filmmaker with an appetite for new perspectives~

"I never paint dreams or nightmares. I paint my own reality" -Frida Kahlo

https://www.twitch.tv/vulgarg3nius

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.