Poets logo

Lost in a daydream

With desire comes confusion.

By Aasha BianchiniPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Photo by DANNY G on Unsplash

For a moment I thought my mind was broken.

Fuzzy, confused, and delirious.

My body groans as I role in sweat tangled sheets.

What happened last night?

~

I stare at the spinning ceiling

the sunlight streams in rainbow streaks across the bubbling white paint.

Racking my brain to remember the events from the evening.

Alas, nothing urges the fog filled head of mine.

~

I drift in and out of sleep in disorientation and exhaustion.

When sleep no longer blankets my body I untangle the sheets and dizzily stand.

My body sways back and forth as I reach for the supportive wall.

My eyes drift to the floor where a purple sequence dress lays.

~

And last night flashes bright in the back of my mind.

Dresses of all colours, bright and dull, soft and firm.

Suits of black and ties of different complexions.

People masked with a flirtatious sophistication.

~

One face remains crystal clear in my mind.

His face clever, hidden, and dark.

A thrill of pleasure ripples down my spine

and a smile of delight spreads across my face.

~

He is the one.

The one who will make my life full.

The one who will make any fear, any unwanted feeling disappear.

Who is this creature my heart yearns to see?

~

My mind flies with a dreamy daydream lost only to me.

My heart opens and takes a leap to pleasure.

My confusion and deliria vanish.

But how will I find this human I know nothing about?

~

I scramble drawers, cupboards, and my whole house.

No name, no address, no phone number.

Annoyed, angry, and profoundly irritated I give up.

Letting the unknown ray of pleasure for the future evaporate into nothing.

~

I suppose what happened at the parade must stay at the parade.

love poems
2

About the Creator

Aasha Bianchini

Avid reader, writer, and lover of all things classical.

When I'm not navigating the rigors of high school, you'll find me tapping away at my keyboard creating characters for my first novel, whilst listening to Tchaikovsky or Shostakovich.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.