Poets logo

Loss

When Moms can't be replaced

By Jerica FloydPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Loss
Photo by Ian Taylor on Unsplash

I think Ill be able to write again

When the words don't taste so

Bitter on my tongue

Reality has found its way into my heart

And has left no room for old loves

Who let me sculpt them

Into solid pieces that

Look a lot like truth

Where I breathe my soul inside

To give them life

And that

Is the reason why

They danced across my lips

As if they were mine, and mine alone

But I haven't seen them dance in a while

Not since my stumble into this realm

Where truth is more than a

Well dressed politician with a

Devilish grin and reassuring handshake

Or a girl gone lost

Who thinks a rub on the butt is

The same as a caress of the heart

Its having to tell your mother that

You don't blame her at all for the

Life you left behind

And smiling when she has to shave her

head for the second time

Its being the rock for others to

Break themselves against

When all you want

is to be broken

Its watching some stranger pump

Glowing liquids into the same arm

That held you at night when you swore

That dragons were in your closet.

Its telling her that,

This too shall pass

And you have to spit out

Every word individually because

The taste of the lie is so strong and potent

You don't want it to seep into your heart

Its trusting God even when he threatens

To take away what secures you

Its realizing that it was she

From whom I took the clay

To mold my truth

Her, who gave me poetry

My words

Its hoping that she gets to see

My children grow

And wishing that if this is not a possibility

That she leaves me a bit of poetry

To write of her beauty for everyday she is gone.

I think I'll be able to write again

When the words don't taste so

Bitter on my tongue

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.