Poets logo

Loss

coming to terms with loss and grief

By Innervisionpoetry Daniel KopilowPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like
Freydoon rassouli

The monkey jumps over to the window...

He tries to escape but little does he know....

He’s never known anything much of love though...

He’s only ever known these shackles and these windows...

People who suffer loss...

Celebrate life at a disadvantage

And with great cost...

There’s no magic marker thick enough to blot out this cross...

Promises made, with lies overlaid...

We are told, they’re in a safer place...

Waiting to be reborn...

But in reality we know nothing of this after life...

In our living lives forlorn...

We all grieve in our own ways...

And It’s easy to forget our still alive loved ones on those darker days...

There’s a pushing and a shoving of emotional inattention...

When your mind is full of death and inner self reflection...

“What the fuck am I going to do now?”...

“Is there still a point to living somehow?”...

“My life has ended, now that you're not here with me in his hour”...

My Mind is obtuse and wrought with dissatisfaction...

My limbs fail...

And my body falls into some sort of ragged disintegration...

Sleep is rough and it doesn’t come easy...

Always questioning...

“Why did you leave me?”...

Whether suicide took your life or something else took it for you...

This mess is the same no matter which way the heavens took you...

But I gotta keep moving...

I gotta see this through...

At least for our child’s sake...

If not for me, or for you...

So we all experience loss and we all experience grief... I’ve had a few friends experiencing this lately and I myself have experienced my own fair share of it... but as you read this new piece remember that grief and loss does not always equal the absolute... namely death... rather grief and loss can be experienced in a multitude of ways... for example... your partner loses a loved family member and it affects them so much that it tears apart the relationship you have with said partner and therefore loss and grief ensues for the partner who did not lose a loved one in death... however the emotions and grief involved with those sorts of loss can be just as heavy as a loss in death can be... loss and grief can also be felt deeply through religious shunning and losing your entire support network as well... so yeah these thoughts have been on my mind the last few days and so inspiration took over this morning and these words came flooding out... hope you enjoy and as always I hope it helps someone out there even if it’s just a little... Sorry I couldn’t fit the poem in this post... please check it out on second post with the same image...

COPYRIGHT © belongs to Daniel Kopilow and @innervisionpoetry, all rights reserved...

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Innervisionpoetry Daniel Kopilow

Hi all, welcome to my new vocal page, home for my poetry. @InnerVisionPoetry, hope y’all love reading them as much I love writing and sharing them with everyone of you, my hope is that I can inspire deep thought, empathy, and compassion.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.