Poets logo

Losing Hope

A spoken word poem

By Tarun GuptaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Losing Hope
Photo by Anh Nguyen on Unsplash

My subconscious is playing maniacal games with me

I am at a loss of thought on what to do about it

I wake up startled

staring into nothingness

like searching for a star on a cloudy night

This has never happened before 

I hadn't seen you in many years

and suddenly I am being torn apart 

as ground during an earthquake

by the tricks, my mind is playing

making me relive this nightmare

I had stopped giving you a space in my head and my heart

but this sick game of my mind has once again reminded me

of the longing I had for you

of what we could have been together

of what we could have meant for each other

of how I believed we were perfect for each other

like beach sand is made for the ocean

The horrors my subliminal self showed me

are those which I can't describe to anyone but you

but I know that you are not interested in listening 

to what I have to say

because you made me feel like shouting in space

I don't know whether it's your ego or something else

that has always maintained the distance between us

But I know this much that you will always have 

a special place reserved in my soul

I have and will always try to keep the happy parts 

of you in that reserved space

but I am certain now that

I need closure

these games are evidence of that

It's only up to you to provide me the closure

But once again I don't have any hopes

The expectation of hope from you will

definitely suck the optimism out of my life 

that I have built with such vigor and courage

I don't want to let it go

for the sake of my sanity

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Tarun Gupta

A simple fellow writing stories, sharing experiences, sharing his perspective, trying to do his share of humanity.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.