Poets logo

Soulless Living

A spoken word poem

By Tarun GuptaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Soulless Living
Photo by Umesh Soni on Unsplash

Wide eyes open lying in bed

missing you

wondering what did I do to deserve you

wanting to thank someone for letting you in my life

I am not perfect but I try

only to realize 

how flawless you are

only to hope

to bring everlasting happiness to you

only to cherish

the happiness you embed in my soul

This one life is not enough because 

the time spent with you goes away 

like the smoke of a burning cigarette

with the regret of not having you sooner in my life

When you speak my name

it is like a musical orchestra singing in my honor

making the world jealous

deprived of their name 

harmonized in your voice

Your breaths on my neck 

bring alive every cell in my body 

beaming me with a sense of living

stopping me from ever harming myself

in fear of losing that liveliness

Meeting you was like a sailor 

finding a lighthouse while stranded alone in the sea

who lost all desires to exist

implating the hope to live again

Cuddling with you 

with your breaths on my chest

the smell of your hair

you holding me in your arms

promising without saying never to let go

transports me to my heaven on earth

making me want to be friends with death

if life after our demise is this

I can't wait to meet you again 

I lay here eagerly awaiting 

for the God of Death 

who can't visit soon enough

to take me to you 

and rid me of this soulless living

© Tarun Gupta

Thank you for reading!

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Tarun Gupta

A simple fellow writing stories, sharing experiences, sharing his perspective, trying to do his share of humanity.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.