Poets logo

Lord Have Mercy

Poem

By Desmond RazzanoPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

Lord Have Mercy

I reach out to the stars, the stars are my goal.

The ways of the wise are the ways that are whole.

Lord have mercy, have mercy on my soul.

As I breathe in with the new, I breathe out with the old.

There are lessons to learn without any class.

Once I forgive them, it’s all in the past.

Trust is real fragile, it can break just like glass.

Like stepping on eggshells through valleys so vast.

I destroy all my obstacles, this is no coarse.

Kill them like insects, they’re dead by my force.

I’d shout, and I’d scream until my throat became hoarse.

No one wants love, they’re enamored by whores.

We all want power, but it goes to our heads.

I tell them farewell, as I wish them the best.

They kill you with kindness to hear you confess.

Lord have mercy, in life, and in death.

Nice things and finery, yes that is my heaven.

I knew I was different since the age of eleven.

I never died, no my eyes were just restin’.

I made mistakes but I did learn my lesson.

I wish I knew more, I’m so tired of guessin’.

Every good curse is disguised as a blessin’.

Life’s what you make it, no more, and no lesser.

I’m not that evil, but I laugh like I’m Dexter.

They try to make bail, but they can’t pay the bond fee.

Nothing worthwhile will ever come free.

Lord have mercy, have mercy on me.

I hold my head up when the water’s all I can see.

Peace is my want, and I want it today.

There’s nothing else out there, so here I Just stay.

I admit when I’m wrong if I’ve no more to say.

Lord have mercy, but I’ll be okay.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Desmond Razzano

My name is Desmond, and I have a love and passion for writing of all kinds, especially poetry! Most of the content I write about reflects more of my experiences and my pain, and my joy! Every entry or story I post was written by me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.