Poets logo

Looking For Alexander

Adventures in Egypt

By Kincaid JenkinsPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

I came into Siwa

not on horseback like Alexander the Great

seeking godhood and the world

but on a bus crated with chickens

stopping at small waystations

where we might defecate

into a hole in the ground

owned and operated by children

who would take our coins

and bid us proceed.

Then pulled in a cart

by another young entrepreneur

from the bus stop to my hotel

overlooking a grove of strange trees

and already rented to

roaches the size of scarabs.

I asked the owner if it ever rained

and he gestured with a wave,

“It rained once in 1926 and

washed away the town.”

At first light I walked to the temple

where Alexander spoke to an Oracle

through spirited walls wailing

who decreed he would be a god king.

Alone in this hall I heard nothing

so grand, only my own longing

and so I stole away to parts

off limits that I might carry away

any souvenir or relic to recall him.

At the bottom of a cobwebbed well

slanted in the earth

I found shattered pottery

I imagined he drank from

and bore a hole through it

to make a necklace.

Caked in desert heat I swam in a

seemingly bottomless oasis,

took pictures of the bleached bone carcass

of an unknown species of cattle

and stared at the burned sands where I

pictured his body lay hidden and buried.

In the village streets children followed me

and asked about the world at large.

One had a toy pieced

of a battery and a leaf

that would spin towards Mecca.

I bought them sodas and a soccer ball

and we kicked until it set with the sun.

I never did find him there

but under the sickle moon

where he once marched an army

these Egyptians made me feel like a Pharaoh

foreign and of a different time

but a Pharaoh still.

inspirationalnature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Kincaid Jenkins

Author of "Drinking With Others: Poetry by the Pint" available at https://redhawkpublications.company.site/Drinking-With-Others-Poetry-by-the-Pint-p470423761 and for purchase on Amazon.

Instagram: kincaidjenkins103

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.