Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

"LOOKING BACK THROUGH THE YEARS"

"MY LIFE'S SONGS"

By Vicki Lawana Trusselli Published 16 days ago Updated 9 days ago 2 min read
Nobody Knows You When You're Down And Out

Looking back through the years

Today I opened my ‘2023 my life songs’.

Through all the tears of

All those years of fears and tears

And laughter, joy, pain

To gain,

Working towards the top.

What is up?

What is down?

Is always the same?

No everyone lives to see the rainbow

For all the good seeds they sow

As they drive the freeway of life.

The freeway goes up.

The freeway goes down.

We go on through life.

Its never all about me

And all my strife

Of tears and fears and tears

And laughter of dancing all night long.

The candle burns at both ends

As we all begin our life.

Every song in my 2023 life’s songs begins

A new decade of love.

I shout out every decade,

“Who will I be with this decade?”

as I

Pull up the shades and peek

Out the window at the tree?

The tree stands among the leaves

Of autumn headed to winter

The decades of dreams of scenarios

Of love and heartache and to bake

Love into hot blooded spirits

The young days

I say

There was a song

I always sang

“I’m Sorry”

By Brenda Lee.

As today the hip hop

Calls out for s spot.

The decades of rock n roll

Blues, country, classical

And jazz

All that jazz

Tells the story

Of my life as I lived a movie life.

Up and down the boulevards

Of Sunset and Vine

As I began

The climb

Of my life

Of every decade.

My songs were laid across

The milky way

Of stars and moons and suns

From whence we all come and go

To from.

Lights, camera, action were my decades of soul searching.

Movies, music, boys were my goal

Every decade was a different soul

Work, college, music, art

Not farts

Were my game

"This Girl" by my late friend Maureena. I miss her!

If it’s all the same

I have a few more years

Of rock n roll

Its good for the soul

As in the days of old

Or new or not

Let’s trot

Across the earth today

Here what I say

Democracy is on the ballot.

I voted BLUE.

So, it’s true.

Let’s cruise the boulevards

Of life with freedom

To dance

To romance whomever, we fancy

Girl, boy, or straight or gay.

Life is about love.

Smile!

Let’s dance the night away.

Here what I say.

Come 2025, we are sure to still be free

As can be

Expected

As we drive life’s freeways.

See you guys and dolls

On the Santa Monica freeway

Or another street

Just dance for freedom

Looking back through the years

Today I opened my 2023 my life songs

Through all the tears of

All those years of fears and tears

And laughter, joy, pain

To gain.

I will end with a documentary I produced in the 1990s in North Hollywood.

surreal poetryStream of Consciousnesssocial commentaryinspirationalFree Versefact or fictioncelebritiesart

About the Creator

Vicki Lawana Trusselli

I worked for the music and film industry in Los Angeles, California and Austin, Texas. I studied nursing, journalism, art, film, and computers in college. I was in the first computer class in 1981 at The LA Times. PEACE OUT!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Babs Iverson8 days ago

    Fantastic!!! Loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Lol, not farts made me laugh hahahahaha. Loved your poem!

  • Awesome work! Love this read. Keep up he good work. When you get a chance please check out my work let me know your thoughts.

Vicki Lawana Trusselli Written by Vicki Lawana Trusselli

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.