Poets logo

Looking at Photos of the Guy I was First in Love With

By AJ Birt

By AJ BirtPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Looking at Photos of the Guy I was First in Love With
Photo by Noman Shahid on Unsplash

Looking at photos of the guy I was first in love with,

it feels like getting something stuck in your throat.

Like hitting a bar or a branch while walking.

Like getting suddenly hit unexpectedly, slapped by someone you cared about.

Looking back at photos to find photos of me, and getting hit in the gut with memories, with my breath caught in my throat looking at him. Torture, really.

It makes me remember

remember him

remember laughter

remember someone offering to pray for me

and remembering being two parts of a whole, at last.

It was a pinnacle before the fall. Adoration before destruction.

It does not compare to the turbulence inside me now

the whirlwind of medical issues

and anger

and desperation, wanting

needing

begging

to be the best.

(to be his.)

That is all gone now.

I can remember hugging him tightly, wanting to kill someone for him, adoring that man.

I can remember the pain we caused each other

and I have learnt from it.

I am reborn.

Looking at photos of the man I am in love with makes me wonder how I ever fell for the first one.

Who would ever choose uncertainty over warmth?

I remember, but I move on.

love poemsheartbreak
1

About the Creator

AJ Birt

History nerd who likes to live in a fictional world... also pretty gay.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.