Poets logo

Long ago, in a life left far behind, I loved chicken

Everything changed one fine day...

By Neil MarathePublished about a month ago 1 min read
1
Long ago, in a life left far behind, I loved chicken
Photo by Ivy Farm on Unsplash

Upon coming to know of your oxymoronic existence,

My brain drowned in a sea of disbelief.

You were chasing my trust, I could foresee

I skirted around you, only making minimal eye contact

And then fleeing like a startled deer whenever I transgressed,

I dare not cross the invisible boundary line I had erected.

You represented a chance to regain fortitude.

Yet you exist in a paralleled world dichotomy.

Or perhaps an intersectional lunar cresent.

I researched the dusty tome of your benefactors,

The inheritance of your heirs and proteges

And the surplus of your civilsiation.

Satiated and foreshadowing no fracas,

I ventured into your unrecognized territory.

And then splurged deep into the unknown

You ingnited memories on my taste buds

Memories that I assumed to be shameful,

or portraying a treacherous betrayal.

But the morsels I took weren't of a persuasion abhorrent

They were of nostalgia from the traumatic era bygone

Now reclaimed as a missing treasure overflowing with bounty.

You are the epitome of perfection Frankenmeat,

You allow me to champion rival kingdoms

Now in a marriage of stasis.

Ode
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani30 days ago

    Hmm, interesting one.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.