Poets logo

Lonely

I want to be alone

By Alana ZianPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - August 2022
52
Lonely
Photo by Jemima Christian Utami on Unsplash

You and I were alone together
Eyes cast on the beggarly riches
That graced with fairy tales
Though like a virgin hearing marriage
Rooted comfortable misery

You cheerful pessimist
Am hoping that you were deceptively honest
The deafening silence that crowded your room
Mightier than the heavenly choir
Brought me crash landing down
Begging on my knees
Heels on stone
To stop your cruel kindness

Sometimes I heard your dull soar
Screaming bittersweet through every pore
Yet like a devout atheist
You handed me in though like a historical present
I loved you, I swear I loved you.

Love is a syndrome
Shallow it goes with each seep
Deep down my bone marrow
Narrow enough thin though an arrow
Settling down a peaceful conquest

slam poetry
52

About the Creator

Alana Zian

Am an introverted poet from Africa who is trying to find joy in words. Am also a student trying to make a living from writing specifically paying my tuition please support and share my stories if you can. https://ko-fi.com/alandon

an.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Ke Qi Xi2 years ago

    I also want to publish some beautiful poems

  • Seuruyalvi2 years ago

    A very good poem

  • I plan to do some more poetry and some stories getting back to work after five pm Best Of Luck to us and the universe!!

  • Annie Edwards 2 years ago

    I love this! Your use of paradoxes throughout is brilliant! The cheerful pessimist is one that really stuck out :)

  • Mark Graham2 years ago

    We all need to be alone at times.

  • latojof1462 years ago

    Angel Number 222 Meaning and Significance https://angels-number.com/angel-number-222-meaning-and-significance-significance/

  • Carmen W Keith2 years ago

    I love this poem.

  • test2 years ago

    It's really great

  • ydesign122 years ago

    I like this poem. Natural words.

  • Kat Thorne2 years ago

    Wow, such powerful words. Well-deserved top story!

  • Awesome poem! May I ask how did you make a single space between the lines? Vocal is famous for its double-spaced poetic lines that do not fully fit into the structure. Thanks!

  • Amit Yadav2 years ago

    Adorable

  • Stephan A Harris2 years ago

    Lovely poem

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.