Poets logo

Lonely doll

Portrait of a lonely doll

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
8
The Lonely Doll Book by Dare Wright

it’s so hard to see, my hard boiled mouth can only squeak

My eyes go wide open with fear

What are these bears doing here?

They like me, I like them,

We have fun.

It’s lonely to share a window with you,

I see the wispy trees, whipping against the violence of the storm

But I don’t cry,

No I don’t.

It’s only when the sun comes out

And the trees quiver and breathe like a green stalky person,

Shivering and leaking,

Frying pan sun, my scrambled eyes

Fall asleep

How does the dewy grass feel on your

Feet,

I feel something runny like yolk run down my plastic face

Is this a tear,

It slides down the window like rain.

heartbreak
8

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Wonderfully sad poem .

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Wonderful!!! Loved it!!!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Wow, really great use of imagery with such beautiful word choices. I loved this line, 'Frying pan sun, my scrambled eyes'. Wonderful!

  • Brilliant usage of imageries, Merly! Loved this poem!

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Love this. Your blend of imagery and emotions is awesome. 🥰

  • Shane Harrington about a year ago

    Love

  • Unique, luv the imagery.

  • sleepy draftsabout a year ago

    Wow! This is so thought-provoking, and beautifully written.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.