Poets logo

Loneliness

A spoken word poem

By Tarun GuptaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Loneliness
Photo by Ihor Malytskyi on Unsplash

I wake up wide-eyed

only to find myself lost

in the crowd

like a toddler alone 

at Times's square on New year's eve

There is a light shining through me

only to be unseen

by others' stress clouds

like a blind's eyesight in the veil of darkness

I feel like a weed in a stream

trying to diverge the current

only to see it come undone moments later

like dividing any number by one

I hear myself 

roaring like a lion

only to be unheard

like sound in the quiet of space

I am making 

splashes in the ocean

only to be carried away

likes waves coming to shore

I find myself 

driving on a cold winter's night

alone and lonely, nobody in sight for miles

like the moon on a cloudy night

This loneliness is killing me slowly

I find myself 

longing to be perceived

wanting to shine brightness unto others

craving to be listened

needing to be a rock to split the torrent

hoping to be a tsunami in the sea

Is this too much to ask for …

© Tarun Gupta

Thank you for reading.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Tarun Gupta

A simple fellow writing stories, sharing experiences, sharing his perspective, trying to do his share of humanity.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.