Poets logo

Longing for Love

A spoken word poem.

By Tarun GuptaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Longing for Love
Photo by Billy Williams on Unsplash

I think love is

like letting yourself flow in the stream

like stars with moon on a clear night

like a rainbow in the sun after rain

like waves in a sea

like snow on a mountain

like hot chocolate on a winter day

like rum on a winter's night

like iced tea on a summer afternoon

like sangria on a summer eve

like an incurable disease

Knowing what love feels like

I still wonder why

I find myself

in a stream with no current

like the moon on a cloudy night

without sun after rain

standing in a lake with no waves

atop a heap with no snow

with cold coffee on a frosty day

with an empty bottle of rum on a chilly night

with boiling tea on a scorching day

with no wine, ice, and fruits on a sunny eve

immune to the disease of love like a shark

Longing for love dying inside out

My optimism is running on fumes

I keep waiting for

my river to take me away

clouds to go away

rainfall with shining sun

my feet to feel the ocean waves

my heap to become a mountain

my days to be sunny to enjoy the cold coffee

my rum elixir to hold me on a cold twilight

my surroundings to be rainy to enjoy the warmth of the brew

my water to convert into wine, seeds to turn into fruits, and melting pool to transform into a glacier

me to catch the love bug

Only to get my hopes shattered

and go to bed with tears in my eyes

© Tarun Gupta

Thank you for reading.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Tarun Gupta

A simple fellow writing stories, sharing experiences, sharing his perspective, trying to do his share of humanity.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.