Poets logo

Loneliness

8 ways to overcome loneliness

By Regina BrooksPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
wallup.net

How do I stand being by myself for so long? How do people go on without someone? I just feel like I can just dig a hole in the ground and bury myself in and leave this earth.

clipart-library.com

My family needs me. I have to start packing everything up and leave this house. Why do I have to leave? I can just scream! Do you ever want to just scream??? I just want to scream!

Where am I going to go? I'm going to just work. Work and work and work.

Everything is darkness and black. I swim in a lake of nothings.

Why do I get so sad? I hate being so sad!

There are 8 ways to overcome loneliness and help your friends that are lonely too. If you have a friend that is experiencing symptoms of depression or extreme bouts of being alone, please don't hesitate to call a help line. They are there to help.

1) TALK. I think the biggest one we forget to do with each other is talk to each other. Once we talk to each other and clear communications up, it does clear up a lot of misled stuff.

2) Try to figure out what is making you depressed or lonely. There is a lot of different reasons on why a person could be lonely or depressed. Try to figure out if it a relationship or lack of. Or it could be that they could need to go see a professional counselor to get further instruction.

naijagists.com

3) Be a good friend by listening to them. Do not just talk to them but listen to them. Some people do not feel heard in the world so being heard is a big deal.

4) Go out. Go out and have fun. Go out to watch a movie or go out skating. Just go out and do something that's not at home alone. You can possibly go out to the mall. Whatever you like to do.

5) Pick up the phone and call someone to talk to them. Nowadays, people are busy. But pick up the phone and call someone and maybe schedule a lunch date. That would be fun to do.

6) Join a group or a club. That is always fun, and it makes you feel like you belong to a group.

7) You need to have self-compassion. This is the act of loving, forgiving, and treating yourself enough just like you would another person.

8) Know that everything will be OK. I know that sounds cheesy, but it does all turn out to the greater good. Everything turns out the way it is supposed to even though it might be rough getting there. There is a reason for everything.

When one door closes another door will open. That is a sign that you were never supposed to be walking through that door. Just trust the Mother Earth, The True One, God,

Call a suicide hotline number. In the United States, you can reach the toll-free, 24-hour hot line of the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline at 1-800-273-TALK (1-800-273-8255) to talk to a trained counselor. Use that same number and press "1" to reach the Veterans Crisis Line.

art

About the Creator

Regina Brooks

Freelance writer, dog lover, and working on my bachelor's degree in Psych at Uni of Phoenix. I love recycling. I try to make the environment a better place. I believe in positivity and showing others a smile instead of negativity.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Regina Brooks is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Regina BrooksWritten by Regina Brooks

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.