Poets logo

L’Odeur Énigmatique

The Mystic Scent...

By Gulraj BediPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

L’ODEUR ÉNIGMATIQUE

They say, you’re merely a fragment of my imagination

But I, somewhere at the back of my mind, know

we’d meet one day, like air meets fire

To give rise to flames

I remember playing on rugged grounds

And those 10 kilometre-long ‘pilgrimages’ via metro rapid transits

Cafeterias were no less than monasteries

And assignments were a mere formality

I admit things have gone downhill

Time didn’t stop for me, and neither would it stop for you

And I know, I have gone a bit too far

But I always had the courage to return

Be it past, present, or future

Each moment of mine spent in silence,

Was a sheer waste of time

While everything else was moving, I lay motionless

With a thousand fragments of broken thoughts overpowering me

Now, I seem to have realized

Even if we travel at the rate of knots, we’d end up nowhere ( for it’s a vicious circle)

I know, I left without a trace.

Smiling at you, rather nonchalantly.

But, breathing in the sillage of memories,

brought me back to my senses

But deep within the memories, I couldn’t erase, you were right there…

I completely understand

That I am, just as everything else, fragile and transient

And that all we need, is to live in this moment

For it would never return once it vanishes into thin air

This sillage of memories didn't let me get carried away...

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.