Poets logo

livsång

Life song

By M. JohnsonPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

I can hear a song playing low. Where it’s coming from I don’t know.

Wandering through ‘till I stumbled on love. That small song turned into a hum.

I can barely make out a note. Tiny song what should I know?

Number one you made me so complete. How could someone so delicate sweep me off my feet?

Feels like I’m looking into my own eyes. But yours are from heavens of the bluest skies.

We taught each other as we went. I had no clue but was determined.

Silence scarcely comes since you came along. That’s okay ‘cause I love to hear your voices song.

Just as I can make out the tune. That song grew louder before I knew.

Then she came her scent of roses. I hear that song again as life composes.

Fragile girl who isn’t fragile at all. So mighty for a girl so small.

Full of energy with a spirit like no other. I knew when I met you. I was meant to be your Mother.

Now that tune has become a melody on the wind. With each breath my seeds take I hear that hymn.

Drifting like a heavy fog. Through my mind all night long. There it is again that luring song.

I wept, and whaled but August you couldn’t stay. A scar on my heart of your memory is alive tattooed on my arm today.

Nine years and one lost and now I hold my dreams. Little boy you’ll never know how much you mean.

So many tears, so many prayers. I almost lost faith. That’s what it’s like to miss someone when you’ve never seen their face.

You were our rainbow after the storm. This place was so cold and you made it warm.

Song so loud now I can make out the words. Man it’s the most beautiful ballad I’ve ever heard.

But what would we be if we were missing a piece? That’s why he came to make us complete.

The lyrics to the lullaby. That’s what I hear when he laughs or cries.

Strong as a titan with the heart of your father. Gentle soul wrapped in Gods armor.

I’ll do all I can to teach you life’s ways. We can’t hold hands forever. A strong birdie never stays.

My dreams are vivid with hopes for you guys. I hope someday to see a little of me in my grandchildren’s eyes.

It was never a song more like an anthem. Quietly guiding me to a destiny I couldn’t fathom.

A homecoming call that lead me where I was destined to go. It never played fast always slow and low.

That song led me to this and I was willing to follow. To be brave when I wasn’t and keep looking forward to tomorrow.

Creating life is more than a blessing or gift. It’s a forever promise to show them how to do more than just exist.

To endlessly love and stay close but don’t hover. My song and my purpose has always been to be their Mother.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

M. Johnson

There is no bad weather; only bad clothing 🏔

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.