Poets logo

Living in the Shallows

fear of the unseen

By Donna Morgan Published 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Living in the Shallows
Photo by Shazmyn Ali on Unsplash

Staying in the shallows,

Playing it safe,

Living in the safety of this clear foreseeable space,

not venturing further than the depth of my waist.

Not swimming in the deep it’s a far too dangerous a place,

stay away from the predators and the unseen things of the deep.

Circle and hunt waiting to pounce or kill.

To rip you apart and leave you misshapen and strewn.

Dark things live in the depths far safer to stay in the shallows.

Nothing will get me if I stay in a safe space.

But how do I grow if I don’t venture into the deep?

What of the sharks that swim beneath the surface?

How do I learn if I stay in the escape place?

What will I miss if I don’t swim to the depths?

What will I lose if I stay in the shallows of life?

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Donna Morgan

I am a lover of the mystical the magical and the spiritual.

I write to heal myself and to share my journey with anxiety and life that I experience through my feelings.

I love to write it is my healing place.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Love the message in this poem . 🥰

  • I'm at the point in my life where I don't want to take risks anymore. So this poem was very relatable

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.