Poets logo

Living In Accordance With My Will

From Growing Inwards To Outwards

By Thavien YliasterPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
1
Living In Accordance With My Will
Photo by Mohamed Nohassi on Unsplash

Upon the Winds' Full Skies with each breath, do I take.

For living up to my mission, even with all my faults, is of no mistake.

Resting my lips on life's chalice, do I partake.

Living as I breathe, For Responsibility is my uptake.

By Lennon Caranzo on Unsplash

Rebellion came as I grew.

Leaving, not Living, did a storm begin to brew.

Surviving on their words, from what I knew.

Stranded, was I, in the Glass Lake. Freshly supplied by the mountains' dew.

By Simon Hurry on Unsplash

"You need to learn to ask for help." Help, I needed, I could not deny.

A flat, still surface. I saw my reflection, did I.

Help, I went in search for I will not lie.

Looking past my reflection I stared into the abyss, and it stared back. The Glass Lake was, no, is God's Eye.

Made by the courtesy of NightCafe Studio https://creator.nightcafe.studio/

Keeping parts of yourself locked away is a mistake.

Locked and Stowed away in a chest, inwardly it grows like Lagarfljótsormur, from worm to Wyrm Snake.

If it's the inner dark portions of ourselves we grow to hate.

We must practice course correction. A skillful ability that'll become innate.

Image by Clker-Free-Vector-Images from Pixabay

Instead of prescribing and trying to self-medicate.

The inner conflict I will no longer mediate.

Yet upon why, and how to resolve myself, I will meditate.

Knowing of the hero I want to become as I individuate.

The path to walk down I've already begun to initiate.

By Justin Kauffman on Unsplash

Noticing other heroes for inspiration.

I shall not concern myself with slander or defamation.

A Web of Lies is built on falsehood. A desire for provocation.

A Web of Lies is built having a poor frame; A Falsely Constructed Amalgamation.

By Rafael Garcin on Unsplash

I was weary of asking myself, "For how long must I play this game?"

I will admit that who I was did bring about shame.

Tiring of holding my arm out, finger pointed at other people to blame.

Rebuilding myself, and reconstructing a proper frame.

By Nijwam Swargiary on Unsplash

As the unconscious reaches out, and into contact with my brain.

Learning that what I'm feeling has not always been pain.

Instead of submitting and letting go, too much did I retain.

Shying away from conversations with myself, conflict unneeded to resolute, I will not refrain.

Image by mohamed Hassan from Pixabay

Other heroes and their journeys I will not imitate.

We have different goals. Hence, different journeys on pathways which differentiate.

Yet, to learn from others' failures along with my own; so tragedy I will not replicate.

Not perfection but completion will make me immaculate.

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Thavien Yliaster

Thank You for stopping by. Please, make yourself comfortable. I'm a novice poet, fiction writer, and dream journalist.

Instagram

YouTube

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    What a wonderfully introspective poem with so much depth. It takes a lot to point the finger at yourself and question your own behavior and goals and needs and wants. Great food for thought, nicely done :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.