Poets logo

Little PYG!

A Lullaby For My First Car

By Angie the Archivist 📚🪶Published 5 months ago 1 min read
12
Little PYG!
Photo by Kaitlin Kelly on Unsplash

Little PYG

Little PYG

Oh my first car,

You were a star...

Snow white body

Moss green bonnet

What a trusty old car you were.

Hugging 'S' bends on

Sepentine mountain range

Cantering upwards like a colt.

Tinny radio songs.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Little PYG

Little PYG

Windows wound down

Crisp breeze...

No cold aircon...

Toasty heater

Life was simpler way back then.

'Three on the Tree' gear stick...

Changin' up 'n down was slick.

Carried friends

To their homes...

Rainbow jewelled sunsets.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

This is a lullaby written about my first car... constructed out of two second hand, Ford cars combined into one. "Three on the tree" was what we called column shift gears, back in the day... unlike "Four on the Floor" (or 5 or 6) as seen now.

I needed a car to travel ninety minutes up and down windy mountain ranges to my job as shift worker. It's number plate was PYG, so the car became fondly known as "The PYG." The PYG was no great beauty, but a 'trusty steed.' She was almost lost in the mists of time until Judey suggested an easy writer's prompt of a lullaby for a First Car.

I have tried to fit the words to Brahm's Lullaby.

inspirationalnature poetryhumorfact or fiction
12

About the Creator

Angie the Archivist 📚🪶

Addicted to reading… especially fiction and recently poetry.

Personality of a Labrador.

Attention span of a gnat! 🙃

A Parade Of Shoes: Top Story March 2024

"Look Out... Sauerkraut!": Top Story December 2023

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writer4 months ago

    This was such a great poem. I'm dying to know what the PYG looked like or what two models of Ford were involved or was it two of the same. It's been a couple decades since I've seen anything on the tree. The last was an old Chevy pick up my brother had.

  • k eleanor4 months ago

    Awwwl..I love this! And the little story behind it💘

  • Awww, PYG! This was a wonderful lullaby and tribute to your first car!

  • Andrea Corwin 5 months ago

    Ah, I remember three on a tree! Great poem that fits your car, loved it!

  • Grz Colm5 months ago

    Uh cool Angie! Fun and nostalgic.😊👍 And I loved the little story behind it too.

  • Shirley Belk5 months ago

    I love this! Made me smile and go back to my memories...I had a Rambler as my first car and I learned to drive on a column/stick/tractor....oh, the grinding of gears. Ode to Little PYG is great!

  • Daphsam5 months ago

    Wow, that is really good. Very creative. Well done.

  • Judey Kalchik 5 months ago

    Angie! What a fantastic approach to the prompt! Not just the poem but your relationship came through so clearly I felt like I was in the seat next to you.

  • Very nice!

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    Well now...this made me smile a lot this morning reading this, Angie. Loved this. I loved how easygoing it was, and quite gentle, with some little pangs of sadness/nostalgia to it too. The lines "Hugging 'S' bends on Sepentine mountain range" and that final line of "Rainbow jewelled sunsets." were just marvellous. Loved this. Well done, Angie!

  • Annoyingly... serpentine lost its 'r' along the way and became sepentine... apologies... I can't edit it!!!

  • Poppy 5 months ago

    Lovely poem. Great car name. Loved the line ‘Serpentine mountain range’

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.