Poets logo

Little Lives

How many of them can I have?

By Tina WargoPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

I like looking at houses from the outside in.

I like seeing the small lights on in the windows.

I like noticing movement inside, in the kitchen, in the living rooms.

I like driving down roads and imagining I live there.

I like thinking about the chain restaurants families are going to on Friday nights.

I like imagining trick or treat.

I like seeing back yards and front yards and open garages and little flags and outdoor statues and mailbox decorations.

I like passing the movie theater and the post office.

I like knowing that people are living lives that are small and comfortable and cozy and uncomplicated and quiet.

I like that that is an option.

I forget that I am on the inside, sometimes, and I am the one leaving the light on or moving around in the kitchen.

I like to remember that I am one of those people.

I like to make myself think of me like that.

It makes every big thing I want seem too big.

It makes every small thing I do feel not so small.

It makes me think that someone might be looking inside, watching, liking all the little things about my life.

I like thinking that someone is watching.

I like remembering that someone probably is not.

I like knowing it doesn’t matter.

But I like, even more, deciding that it really, really does.

I like looking, seeing, noticing, driving, thinking, imagining, seeing, passing, knowing.

I forget.

I remember.

I decide.

I live inside. More inside than I even know. And so does everyone else.

And on we all drive.

excerpts
1

About the Creator

Tina Wargo

Tina is a queer writer in Brooklyn, who uses Google mostly to image search 45-year-old women in suits, and Twitter mostly to report on her findings. She has a deep obsession with narrative, a CAROL tattoo, and, relatedly, a degree in film.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.