Poets logo

Little Flower

Little Flower's Growth

By John M Edwards JrPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
7
Little Flower
Photo by Carlos Quintero on Unsplash

Little Flower,

So beautiful you are. I see the weeds trying to choke you out. The weeds have their blossoms but they stink. Let me pluck you up and transplant you in a field where there are no weeds. I would love to water you and watch you grow even more beautifully. Little Flower, how beautiful you are. Step into the palm of my hand and let me take you to Wonderland. Little Flower, you're so rare, so make sure you take care, and stop taking so many dares. Little Flower, beware. There are weeds everywhere. Little Flower, come with me. Let me plant you where there are trees and no weeds. Little Flower, do you hear me? Are you listening Little Flower?

Your friend

nature poetry
7

About the Creator

John M Edwards Jr

Born in San Francisco, CA. Son of a preacher. After committing my life to Jesus Christ, I noticed the letter I wrote to God had rhyming lines. That became my first poem.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes12 months ago

    Nicely done.

  • Your friend. My trust issues are so bad right now. So bad that I'll tell the Little Flower to not trust the friend. Or the weeds. Or the trees. The world is full of lies and everything is toxic. But I digress. Your Epistolary was beautiful!

  • C. H. Richard12 months ago

    I feel like we could calling so much of what needs to be saved on this earth " The Little Flower. " Well done. ❤️

  • Gina C.12 months ago

    This painted a lovely vision in my mind. It was a delight to read. :)

  • Ward Norcutt12 months ago

    I found it interesting that the first half of the piece didn't rhyme, yet you didn't separate it into two stanzas kinda cool actually becomes one train of thought. The speaker insinuates himself into the life of the flower. Insinuates the rhyme with no separation - no thought that his wishes and desires for harmony of re-creating are his and not the flower's...cool piece!

  • Novel Allen12 months ago

    The flower could represent life, needing a new start.

  • Ingenious work❤️😉

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.