Poets logo

Little Cat's Purpose

A story in rhyme

By Jania WilliamsPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo by Jania Williams

One dark, stormy night I arrived at a door,

weakened with hunger and soaked to the core.

Down on my luck, I lay down and cried.

Then I heard footsteps of someone inside.

The door opened up and a woman stood there,

Warmly rugged up with grey, wiry hair.

‘My goodness’, the woman said, ‘poor little cat’.

‘Come on inside. You look like a drowned rat’.

The old woman fed me and let me get warm.

She gave me a bed inside, safe from the storm.

I looked up at her face and she looked at me.

‘Could my luck be changing?’, I thought, hopefully.

‘I do need a mouser’, the old woman said.

‘Perhaps you can stay’. Then she went off to bed.

I was so grateful to have a nice home.

A garden to play in, with long grass to roam.

A nice cosy spot on the living room mat.

Not a bad life for a stray little cat.

I loved the old woman with grey, wiry hair.

I wanted to show my affection and care.

I followed her ‘round and I searched for a clue.

Just one little sign that she loved me too.

But there was a sad, empty look on her face.

Her far-away eyes just stared off into space.

‘I’ll be a good cat’, I thought, ‘make you love me’.

‘I’ll be a good mouser for you. Wait and see!’

So, I did my duty. I kept the mice down.

I chased them away. Ran them right out of town.

‘Good job’, said the woman, and gave me a treat.

I gazed up at her as I sat at her feet.

Proudly awaiting a cuddle and pat.

But she said, ‘not now. Off you go little cat’.

So, I did my best to stay out of the way.

I played and explored in the long grass each day.

I lazed in the sun and I went on the hunt.

What more could a stray little cat really want?

Then one day while hunting alongside the house,

I heard the grass rustle - the sound of a mouse.

I stopped in my tracks and I turned back around.

Then crept over silently, followed the sound.

The long grass was moving. My heart, it was racing.

Ready to pounce, my body was bracing.

Still as a statue, my ears pricked right back,

Eyes on the target, I launched my attack.

But suddenly, something was terribly wrong.

This mouse was not furry, but scaly and long.

Right then I knew I had made a mistake.

This was no mouse but a slithering snake!

But it was too late. I was frozen with fright.

Then into my leg went a venomous bite.

Time seemed to stop. I felt everything fade.

As I lay in agony, there in the shade.

I felt very hot. Then I felt a great chill.

The world looked so strange. I was terribly ill.

I staggered back home, and I cried at the door,

Unable to stand, I collapsed on the floor.

The woman knew right away, something was wrong.

I was laid on a bed at the vet before long.

The vet gave instructions to help me get well.

‘Good luck Little Cat’ the vet said. ‘Time will tell’.

The woman stayed by my side; took care of me.

But that venom kept spreading right through my body.

It spread to my heart. I could not move for days.

Then something strange happened. The pain went away.

I watched the whole scene as I floated above,

The old woman’s eyes fill with watery love.

I heard her voice echo, so sorrowfully,

‘Oh no, Little Cat’, she cried, ‘please don’t leave me’.

But pulling me on was a marvellous light.

So warm and loving of bright golden-white.

I knew I was right where I was meant to be.

The pain was all gone. I was finally free.

The light led me on to a beautiful door.

I knew I was home. I had been here before.

But I paused a moment, before I passed through,

And thought of the woman back there feeling blue.

‘The old woman needs me’, I thought, ‘I must go’.

‘My purpose is back there. In that home, below!’

Her love was so strong. It was pulling me back.

Then into my body I went with a whack.

The woman stayed with me. Did not leave my side.

All day and night. And she cried and she cried.

‘Dear Little Cat’, she said, ‘stay with me now’,

In a soft voice, that was different somehow.

Soon I was better and happy to see,

The old woman sitting there, smiling at me.

‘Thank goodness you’re back’, she said, wiping a tear.

‘No more playing with snakes, Little Cat! Do you hear?’

Her eyes had been cleansed by the tears she had shed.

The emptiness filled with a warm light instead.

Soon I was strong enough to play outside,

On freshly cut grass - Nowhere for snakes to hide!

So, I spent my days in the glorious sun.

I chased butterflies and I had lots of fun.

I hunted for mice. I kept them right away.

And when I returned at the end of the day,

The old woman smiled as I purred on the mat.

‘I’m so glad you’re here’, she said.

‘My Little Cat’.

childrens poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jania Williams

I have always found verbal communication challenging, so I write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.