Poets logo

Literary Frankenstein

one letter at a time

By Natasha CollazoPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
15
Literary Frankenstein
Photo by Stephany Lorena on Unsplash

A is for anxious bubbles in my brain.

Bursting on the walls of my vertebrae.

Cacti-heart pricking everything in its way.

Decorating the living room of my conscious with frames of disillusionment.

Echoing thoughts of insecurity, bouncing off the halls are whispers.

Fertile minds projecting through the cracks of their mirrors.

Growing pains injected lies in my lips.

Helter skelter, disorder and shame.

Invading my plains.

J is for justice, orchestrating it’s perfect fate.

Kidneys groaning in its graveyard of stones.

Lucid water starting to brine in my bones.

Mad scientist in the clouds,

Nails keeping the covenant pinned to his vows.

Organ donors sharing the members of their bodies,

Poetry and love flow back into my arteries.

Quickening every thought, taming the feral monster of shame;

Resuscitating literacy from the grave.

Sculpting the art in my gallery,

Tale bearing fools evacuate the residence of my mentality.

Undressing me whole.

Victory dances in the chambers of my soul!

Windows of my eyes, finally remove the blinds of my pride.

X-rays of my heart revealed the pricks came apart.

Yielding to the new shelter of my mind; gates of iron, a mortal

Zion.

surreal poetryStream of ConsciousnessMental Health
15

About the Creator

Natasha Collazo

**Studying Modern Journalism @ NYU **

Project: The diary of an emo Latina

I get inspired at the mid of night

Stock market by day, howler by night

✍🏽

Inquiries: [email protected]

Instagram: @sunnycollazo

Do all things in love

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • J4 months ago

    Your inflective and acute use of symbolism here added some real dynamic layers to the experience. I felt so familiar in the feelings of insecurity and faithlessness you initially conjure, and bedazzled by the imagery, that I didn't even notice you transmuting them into this pure, unapologetic self-acceptance until you'd already pulled me out of the anxiety fog and set me down in that safe new space. There's a truth in that narrative which begs a certain sense of inherency. Bit ironic, considering the fluidity of it all, but somehow even more true because of that. Deconstruction is a lengthy and complicated surgery; but if you make it out alive, it's worth it.

  • May you forever be quickened & victorious against those moments of self-doubt, lionized & Zion-ized in the annals of God. (Almost left out the second "n" in that third word from the end. That would not have been good, lol.)

  • "Kidneys groaning in its graveyard of stones." Whoaaa that line blew my mind! Your poem was so dark, intense and poignant!

  • Manisha Dhalani4 months ago

    I like this a lot - Natasha. The line about nails - wow.

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    I bet no one else uses Zion. The monster undresses it's whole until the soul lays bare. The agony of the inner self is felt in these words.

  • Andie Emerson4 months ago

    AMAZING! Such stirring lines! I agree with Cody, I wish the alphabet was longer 🙌

  • Stephanie Hoogstad4 months ago

    What a beautiful piece. I especially love the line "Poetry and love flow back into my arteries." Well done!

  • This was spectacular!!!! I didn't want it to end!!!! I hope this becomes a TS!!!

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    Loved your beautiful, brilliant piece! In my drafts, I have been working on a story that reflects the Victor Frankenstein/his mad creation with the relationship between me and one of my children. I don't know if I will ever publish it, but it is helping me to have awareness and understand his pain.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.