Poets logo

Litany of the Damned

Eco-Poetry

By Rui AlvesPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
8
Litany of the Damned
Photo by Andrey Zvyagintsev on Unsplash

Oh Mother

I’ve failed you

I’ve carved holes in your heart

I’ve ravaged your virgin forests

your wounds run deep and raw

your womb has become barren

in my ruthless greed and gluttony

I’ve cut you down to the marrow

I’ve burned your young saplings

I laid waste to the groves

of your age-old sacred oaks.

The permafrost is gone

oceans engulf the land

now there’s only one season

we’ve named it Hell.

Oh Mother

I’ve failed you

my litany will soon go silent

it’s too late to make amends

I vowed to love you without end

now with my last breath I repent.

---

© Rui Alves, September 2023

sad poetry
8

About the Creator

Rui Alves

Hi, I'm Rui Alves, a teacher, army veteran & digital pathfinder. Author, alchemist of sound & Gen-AI artist.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Rick Henry Christopher 5 months ago

    This is deep Rui. Excellent work!!! 👍

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Captivating!!! Love this!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    💙Great work.

  • Ashley Lima7 months ago

    Great message. Beautifully constructed

  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    Great work! Wonderful!

  • Patrick M. Ohana7 months ago

    A timely piece, my friend!

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    Well that gets straight to the point! Nice work.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.