Poets logo

Listening At Full Capacity

A poem about a Blue Super Moon

By Silver Serpent BooksPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
4
Photo by: Nathalie Daux

I can still smell the smoke

Clinging

To the black holes digging their fingers

Into the mountains and valleys

Of my dark denim jacket

And it's too easy to spend time wondering

If I caught any moonlight there too.

.

The sky was bleeding last night,

Leaking

Pretty blue rays that turned white

The further my shooting star car

Carried me away from the city lights

And the delicate whispers

Of suburbia falling asleep.

.

I stayed up with the moon,

Listening to lunar secrets at full capacity,

Ears shoved into the wind

And eyelashes glued open.

The trees hugged close to the road,

Dipping their fingers into my elated screams

And drew them to their roots for the long winter.

.

The chill crept in and soon I was

Crying

Into the open air of a free night.

The childhood dreams welled inside my chest

Until they spilled out the corners of my eyes,

Looking startlingly like moonlight.

The moon had descended

And landed inside of me

Because I was listening at full capacity.

.

Silver Serpent Books

.

love poemsnature poetry
4

About the Creator

Silver Serpent Books

Writer. Interested in all the rocks people have forgotten to turn over. There are whole worlds under there, you know. Dark ones too, even better.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • C.S LEWIS8 months ago

    great work why cant you join my friends and read what I have just prepared for you

  • Novel Allen8 months ago

    Beautiful song to the blue moon.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.