Poets logo

Liquid Gold

A poem

By Tressa RosePublished 5 months ago 1 min read
8
Liquid Gold
Photo by Danilo Batista on Unsplash

Golden liquid pouring

Into cups of silver and glass

Did we take it too far?

Can we put it in the past?

~~~

It's been almost a year now

A year mostly great

So, where did this come from?

Did my awareness start too late?

~~~

The question now posed

Did I ever really know you

Or was it a blip?

Was that the real you last night?

Did your mask finally slip?

~~~

Or was it the juice

That made you so vile?

Because it was so out of character,

I've known you for a while.

~~~

I love you so much though

So I don't know what to do

You've taken my heart

And you've torn it in two.

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
8

About the Creator

Tressa Rose

On a serious self-discovering, soul-searching journey. Breaking myself out of a stagnant shell and reaching out for my dream of being a writer. Small steps but this is my start! Please help me by commenting your feedback, I'd be grateful!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen5 months ago

    Such a popular story, beauty and the beast, or beauty finally meets the beast.

  • Our heart always ends up in two or more pieces, don't they. Your poem was so poignant and emotional!

  • Diani Alvarenga5 months ago

    Great poem!

  • Kenny Penn5 months ago

    Oh man this was so relatable. Heartbreaking, but a very good poem. You’re on fire today it seems!

  • TheSpinstress5 months ago

    Oh, god. I know this feeling so well. I wouldn't like to say it's *always* so, but I've always found it to be the 'juice' making the mask slip, rather than causing the problem. :'( Hugs.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.