Poets logo

Liquid

By: M. Drake

By Diana GallegosPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Inside my chest

A silent tidepool

Of the clearest blue.

In it you may see your reflection

On a clear sunny day.

But the tide always comes in, where blue is no longer calming.

Frothing white waves split against the rocks

Stinging you with droplets like threats.

There is power here,

Sample it.

My hands will outstretch and cradle you in warmth

But should you turn,

Water gets cold and violent, pulling and pushing,

Drowning in confusion.

Some days there is a tsunami.

A wall of blue, silent until it hits,

Charging and ripping at the ground

As it surges from my body.

My hands reach out to stop it

But it’s just liquid

Seeping through my fingers.

There is no end until all the blue water is gone.

You place a pill in my hand,

It will contain the water

Help the tide pools stay calm

Help keep the violence inside.

I take it

But it’s still there

Raging against my temples

Beating against my chest

Longing to be free

Right beneath the surface

Of the clearest blue water,

You may even see your reflection

On a clear sunny day

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.