Poets logo

Limerence in Villanelle

A Highly Structured Villanelle Poetic Form About Love, or something like it

By Musings of a MusePublished 2 months ago Updated about a month ago 2 min read
4
Limerence in Villanelle
Photo by Abdul Gani M on Unsplash

I write love letters to you, in my head

Filled with obsession and lusty passion

I want to love you until I am dead

When the skies turn black, we will stay in bed

When the stars collide, we will dance for joy

I write love letters to you, in my head

Hell’s fire knows my love for you has no end

Floods may drown me and this world may burn me

I want to love you until I am dead

Hold my hand tightly and kiss my forehead

Grab my waist snugly and feel my body

I write love letters to you, in my head

When all the planets align, we will shed

When the universe cries, we will be free

I want to love you until I am dead

I love you as sunsets paint the skies red

I love you as long as my blood bleeds red

I write love letters to you, in my head

I want to love you until I am dead

By Delia Ra on Unsplash

I wrote this poem in 2021. It's not written about/for someone specific. The main aim of my writing was to shine a light on the psychological phenomenon called "Limerence". Limerence happens in the beginning stage of attraction and falling in love. It's not yet a long-lasting romantic love. It's more like your brain chemistry is on overdrive fueled with feel-good hormones. A trick of nature. Now that I'm explaining this poem, it's losing its romantic appeal, isn't it?

I imagined what I would write in such a situation. I felt that a poetic form, such as a "Villanelle", would be complementary to the obsessive theme of limerence. I wanted to challenge myself. I realized restrictions can get creative juices flowing.

I added elements of rare and near-impossible astronomical events. These elements allude that this "love" is much like hyperbole and not grounded in reality. The amateur scientist (astrophysicist) in me loves this.

Even though now you know that this poem is not as romantic as it may sound. I want to encourage anyone who wants to fall in love - to fall passionately in love, but keep your wits about you, okay?

There must be coherence between heart and mind.

I'm speaking from experience here as I used to be of the personality type to love romantic LOVE and easily fall in limerence. I've learned my lessons.

If you're in love, I'm happy for you. Love them until you are dead, or even in the afterlife, or beyond the expanse of this limited world. 

True love never dies 😉

By Alexander Andrews on Unsplash

Copyright © All Rights Reserved to the writer of this content.

Villanellelove poems
4

About the Creator

Musings of a Muse

Hello, Anna is my earthly given name.

Artist & Muse.

Lover & Beloved.

Perceiver & Perceived.

Let's be each other's muse!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • TheSpinstressabout a month ago

    Oof. You've captured limerence amazingly well here.

  • Rowan Finley 2 months ago

    You have a great mind. I found this fun!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.