Poets logo

Limbo of the Starved Artist

My cub my home I need to leave you alone My skin my hoarder I can't stay here If I mean to cross the border

By Sana ZiaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read

I've been neglecting my body

Neglecting what loves me

I've been neglecting

What tries to protect me

Why do you protect me

I've been a sorry wad

Trying to bloom green

I've been a lone cod

Aching to swim lean

My body

Do you love me

My sorries

How do you steer me

Love you

Love you

I don’t know if I can love you too

Hide me

Bare with me

I'm trying to bloom

Mint faces

Colorful pages

Flowing ages

Why cant I grow like you

Why can't I swim like you

I want to, I do

So I neglect my body

To try and swim faster than you

It's not envy

It's not lacking

But I will my break

Even if it means cracking

It's not a dynasty

It's not a legend

Its the soul of the bear

Whose cubs have gone degenerate

Love you

Love me

How do I say sorry to a body

Chin up

Stay firm

They tell me its easy

They tell me I should be

Kind mellow honey

Kind mellow bumblebees

But I

Have tried

And I end up stuck in lightning

Because I

Cant fight

The thunder that hears me striking

My walls

My tall windows

My ears

My wide-eyed puppeteer

Bear with me I swear

I'm trying to get us out of here

Bear with me I promise

Gaia will thank us for this

My cub my home

I need to leave you alone

My skin my hoarder

I can't stay here

If I mean to cross the border

So goodbye

My life

I shouldn’t have left you before

While I still was waiting

For his knock on the door

But the sky

Is bright

I don’t know if ill be forgiven

But at least let me have your pardon rite

We both have suffered

You tried to love me

And I tried to find love from others

We have failed each other

We have broken our ties

Maybe if I had better loved you

I wouldn’t have starved us from a longer life.

sad poetry

About the Creator

Sana Zia

A Persian aspiring writer, poet, journalist, and artist.

Reads are appreciated as they help me earn from doing what I love! :)

My website and other platforms where I publish my work can be found here:

https://beacons.page/homeofthedamned

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Sana ZiaWritten by Sana Zia

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.