Poets logo

Like the Psalms

<3

By Shannon LoewenPublished about a year ago β€’ 1 min read
3
Like the Psalms
Photo by Oscar Ivan Esquivel Arteaga on Unsplash

like the psalms I was drowning

like the psalms I was attacked

like the psalms I was being swallowed by new enemies

like the psalms I cried out to my God

like the psalms I pleaded in my helplessness and admitted my weakness

like the psalms I despaired and praised

and like the psalms my God delivered me

like the psalms my God protected me

like the psalms my God defended me

and made me know He sees and loves

~S.L.

"The LORD shall preserve thee from all evil: He shall preserve thy soul. The LORD shall preserve thy going out and thy coming in from this time forth, and even for evermore." ~Psalm 121:7-8

performance poetry
3

About the Creator

Shannon Loewen

Hi there :) I use poetry as a processing tool and only recently began to share my works. Thank you for reading them <3

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    There were so many lines in this I liked! Great Job πŸ‘πŸ½ well done

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.