Poets logo

Like A Pricking Of The Skin

Can you feel someone before you see them?

By Nicole StairsPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in From Across the Room Challenge
2

I felt you before I saw you

Like a pricking of my skin

Sudden flush of warm energy

Pulsating deep within

Pretending not to notice you

Bluffing I do not care

I turn to look for this soul

For I would know you anywhere

Your eyes are bright as stars

Your humming voice soft and low

Your fingers stroke another’s cheek

Fate deals me a massive blow

It cannot be, you must be mine

You are supposed to set me free

Cupid’s bow has missed the mark

Skipping you, piercing only me

Must it always be this way

Haunted for love forever lost

Fevered and pained now I am

And my soul returns to frost

I can still feel you near

As I turn to walk away

Love at first sight fails again

A broken heart for another day

love poems
2

About the Creator

Nicole Stairs

My sister says I'm haunted. Guess that's why they say "Write what you know". If I have to deal with it, dear reader, then so do you. I throw in the occasional sweet story, just for a palette cleanser...enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.