Poets logo

Lighthouse

You Were My Lighthouse

By Laura DePacePublished 2 months ago • 1 min read
6
Image from Pixabay

Lighthouse

By Laura Brady DePace

The lighthouse flashes:

Light, dark,

Light, dark,

In the distant night.

Its beam steady,

Dependable,

Solid as the rock it stands on.

It lights the way in the darkness.

Warns of danger.

Protects the innocent ships.

Guides the travelers to safe harbor.

You were my lighthouse.

You lighted my darkness.

Steady,

Dependable,

Solid as a rock.

You protected me and kept me safe.

Until your light went out,

Leaving me in darkness.

Where is my safe harbor now?

Free Verse
6

About the Creator

Laura DePace

Beaches and mountains, quiet forests and sleepy gardens, stormy nights and sunny days, full moons and starry skies, sunrises and sunsets. Joy, sorrow, love, and life. These call to me, and I wish to tell their stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 16 days ago

    Oh no, so sad!! Did he come back??

  • It does feel that way when people leave us. Loved your poem!

  • D. A. Ratliff2 months ago

    Powerful and poignant poem! Really enjoyed it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.