Poets logo

Lighthouse

Poetry on Emotional Decisions

By Jeanette LaterPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

I don’t want to be fixed anymore.

I don’t want the light house analogy.

No saving spotlight could pull me to shore,

And no life vest could take me from the sea.

When I was tossed in, I fought to kill,

The current was more than an enemy.

But in crashing waves, they took my will,

And as I’m drowning, I love suffocating.

No shallow water could call to me,

And no shore could tame desire

To rest with struggle in water’s deep,

And to stray from sanity’s fire.

I want the journey to the depths.

I want the shadows, I want despair.

I want the power lost in breaths

When at last I gasp for air.

So let the spotlight search the sea,

Let my lungs plead for air.

Because I can’t give up suffocating;

I’m drowning; addicted to my own despair.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.