Poets logo

Light White

Beyond the lines

By Tandya LeePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3
Light White
Photo by Joshua Rivera on Unsplash

I’ve already out loved every

Way they loved me – but

I won’t fight with them

gangster leans. Lack of empathy.

They only wanna link for

the birds and the bees.

(I’m not one to play)

Go find one to play

with – I’m not playing me.

I’m NOT what they think.

Roll my neck now they

think I’m mean. Cut my

eyes ‘cus of my anointing.

They never grip their iron

when talking to me. Too

Focused on all the other

Cliques in the streets. I

don’t clutch no pearls when

around any sets. – I just –

set my intents in mind

heart, and strength to wherever

God is. – Transcending any differences.

Imagine being all-white in an all-black world

Full of all-black hurt

requiring you to be clothe

in an all-black cloak

To gain access into church

Pass the walking dead man’s curse

Not offended by the worst.

Light white that’s my love and my work.

I learned early it isn’t

any better in the burbs.

Where we “think” there’s worth

but that thought isn’t working.

Even virgins are bearing burdens

Of feeling unworthy adamant on

Constant and urgently filling selves

worth with gloomy verbiage like:

‘God if I’m so great

How’s my heart still hurting’

Misunderstanding HIS love scoped purchase.

Believe me birdy HE heard

Even the bees, so HE

went ahead and sent me

to speak of the change

We need. — Aimed to increase—

Every being that I see.

From struggling to inner peace!

Imagine being all-white in an all-black world

Full of all-black hurt

requiring you to be clothe

in an all-black cloak

To gain access into church

Pass the walking dead man’s curse.

Not offended by the worst.

Light white that’s my love and my work.

Tip in support however you can or would like, if you enjoyed this poetic read; she's gotta keep the lights on somehow!

social commentary
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.