Poets logo

Lift the ribbon off my eyes

This eclipse too shall pass

By Anna TorresPublished 11 days ago 1 min read
1
Lift the ribbon off my eyes
Photo by Sanni Sahil on Unsplash

Every time I gave you another chance, you disappointed me harshly

Clearly you could never see why metamorphosis was so important to me

Lift the veil, rip off the blindfold from my eyes and give me the truth

If only we could have evolved together but each new phase was of no use

Play your lute while Rome burns and I’ll extract myself from the path of totality

Shadows and umbra have interrupted me far longer than I’ve allowed

Erasing the darkness, my eyes have adjusted to a different light without your obstruction and now, I am illuminated

inspirationalsurreal poetryperformance poetry
1

About the Creator

Anna Torres

I’m a 37-year old mother. I love reading, metal music, and writing. I have begun writing again since 2021

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilake10 days ago

    A nice Acrostic poem.

  • Andrea Corwin 11 days ago

    I love your acrostic! It is wonderful and the line of extracting yourself from the path of totality- perfect!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.