Poets logo

Life Stings

If Only I Was Smaller

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 2 days ago 1 min read

Words come much easier when I write them on paper

they stumble with trouble, fumbling out of my mouth

You ask me politely how I am feeling

then boldly talk over, dismissing whatever comes out

Deepening the feelings, that I don’t like me either

makes me frustrated, wondering why do I try

Cordials my safe place, shallow greetings, then, goodbye

the depths of the lonely, would make a stronger soul cry

I’ve learned, no one really cares what I I’m thinking

as long as I’m saying what they want to hear

As soon as I show I might have need of something

like love or money, they up and disappear

I close my eyes, squeeze them tightly together

wishing somehow, I could just fade away

The path of least resistance keeps me here, tethered

in this bar-less prison with walls my words made

Stream of Consciousnesssad poetryMental Health

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarrana day ago

    People are always like that, they disappear when we need something.

  • Mark Graham2 days ago

    Good work and I know how this feels at times.

  • Ameer Bibi2 days ago

    Very deep and beautifully penned Inner feelings you have described in an amazing manner

  • Joe Patterson2 days ago

    Beautiful Kelli.

  • John Cox2 days ago

    We don’t want to be noticed, we want to be known. But no one has time for that these days. We write to express more than impress, but even here of late the reads are less and less. This is both lovely and very sad, Kelli. Everyone too needy to heat any but their own thoughts.

  • Fly Alone2 days ago

    Deep feelings: dismissed. the frustration of being unheard—loneliness.

Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenWritten by Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.