Poets logo

Life Sequences

Finding The Numbing Peace

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
11
Life Sequences
Photo by Peter Herrmann on Unsplash

My humble entry into yet another great Poppy challenge. Looking forward to seeing what everyone else creates!

*

Accusations as big as bullet holes

Flashing lights at 2 a.m.

Saving pennies and tattered souls

Cursing love and other scams

*

Wounds fester underneath the skin

Busted wallets and give a damns

Hung-up where the real begins

Loving hard, out on the lamb

*

Embracing lessons from the scar

The scab is wearing thin

Content to pick and tear apart

Time and time again

*

Modern, makeshift therapy

Patchwork blistered on my heart

An array of gallimaufry

collaborating the spare-parts

*

I dream of shades of green

Adorned with fields of dandelions

Escaping the same old scene

Shielding echos of screaming sirens

*

I straddle above impact

Waiting for the other shoe to fall

Finding where the calm is stacked

Crafted like babushka dolls

*

A calm peaceful surrender

A compromise of amicable copy

To complete with such sweet splendor

A poem inspired by Poppy

surreal poetrysad poetrylove poemsheartbreakFor Fun
11

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    So lovely in an abstract kind of way. Babushkas are everywhere.

  • Poppy 4 months ago

    Omg I adore this!! “Accusations as big as bullet holes” has me so hooked and in awe straight away and the other lines of that stanza went with it so perfectly. “Busted wallets and give a damns” I absolutely love that. “The scab is wearing thin Content to pick and tear apart Time and time again” That’s so powerful and well written!! This whole poem is incredible!! Thanks for taking part💙

  • Oh I absolutely loved your take on this prompt! I also learned a new word, gallimaufry!

  • Manisha Dhalani4 months ago

    "Busted wallets and give a damns" - I agree with Xine - such a wonderful line!

  • Challenge well met, Kelli. "Gallimaufry"? Never even heard the word before. When I looked it up I was pleased to note that I was pronouncing it correctly, lol. I guess it was destined to be. Today the New York Times used my starting word for Wordle, so now I actually have a single score in that first guess column!

  • Xine Segalas4 months ago

    I LOVE learning new words - gallimaufry- fantastic and it's a word you could use often. My desk is a gallimaufry of papers, books and odds and ends! "Busted wallets and give a damns" - I love this line. Nice job.

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    I learned a new word!!! gallimaufry...(jumble or medley of things) Awesome And this poem made me FEEL. "Cursing love and other scams" "Embracing lessons from the scar" "Patchwork blistered on my heart" genius...all

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    This is great. I had to Google gallimaufry. What a cool word.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.